Skip to main content

This Was a Phish

Ohio State regularly runs phishing training exercises to the university community. By clicking the link that brought you to this page, you succumbed to a university phishing simulation. Read on to learn how to spot phishing messages and protect yourself and the university from malicious attacks.

Spotting the Phish

You received this email:

Screenshot of an email with the subject line "Friends & Family Exclusive BBQ Weekend," sent from Austin Millbarge. The email body instructs the recipient to click a link to view details and RSVP, accompanied by an image of an envelope with a card that reads "you're invited". The bottom section features fine print branding for Sendo Invitations along with sender contact information.

When you click from this email, you are taken to a generic login page:

Screenshot of a pop-up dialog box featuring a stylized blue browser icon above a text field labeled "I'm not a robot" checkbox[

 

Sender Addresses: The sender address, austin.millbarge@mail-delivery-system.com, is not known to you. In fact, that is Dan Aykroyd's character from the 1985 comedy "Spies Like Us". If you look closely, the domain is mail-delivery-system.com is generic and suspicious. You should remain skeptical of addresses that some from outside Ohio State. The domain (everything after the @ symbol) is the first indication that this might be a phishing attack. 

Review the URL of web page before engaging with it: When you clicked from the email, a website was loaded with a URL of https://invite.mail-delivery-system.com which is not a legitimate site. Attempt to confirm the legitimacy of a site before you enter login credentials or personal information like name, email address or phone number.

 

 

Report Phishing Attempts

Image of the 'report suspicious' banner displayed at the top of every external email you receive. Click this banner to report suspected phish.

If you ever suspect an email to be a phishing attempt, please report it immediately by clicking the "Report Suspicious" button in the warning banner which appears at the top of that external email.