Mastering Microsoft 365: Sharing from OneDrive
When it became clear we needed to move away from using BuckeyeBox, we chose OneDrive for Business in part because it has extensive sharing capabilities. However, sharing works differently than you are used to with Box, so it may take some time to get used to the new protocols.
How do I see shared files in OneDrive?
Remember, even if you have not yet migrated, the migration of colleagues that you collaborate with will affect you. The first step to understanding sharing is knowing where to look for files you have shared and files that other users have shared with you:
- Log in to OneDrive for Business.
- Choose “Shared” from the menu.
- Tabs at the top of the page are labeled “Shared with you” and “Shared by you.”
- Select the appropriate tab to see files you have shared or files shared with you.
How do I share with internal users?
How do I share with external users?
Users Who Have OneDrive for Business
- Notify your collaborators after you have migrated to OneDrive for Business, then re-share files.
- Once they accept your invitation to the file, they will be able to see those files under their “Shared with you” tab.
- When sharing with medical center users, be sure to share to their Ohio State Wexner Medical Center email addresses. The medical center’s OneDrive for Business platform does not recognize users by their Ohio State email address.
- If you allow editing of the files this can be done using the Office for the web applications or Office desktop applications.
- Many universities use Microsoft 365; all of our peers within the Big Ten – with one exception – are using OneDrive for Business as a storage and collaboration solution.
Users Who Do NOT Have OneDrive for Business or Have a Personal Account with OneDrive
- Notify users after you have migrated to OneDrive for Business, and you will be re-sharing files. They will receive a code for each folder/file you have shared with them, and they should save that code to access the folder/file(s) in the future (more on this below).
- Send an invitation to their preferred email address.
- Once a collaborator has accepted the invitation, OneDrive for Business will send a verification code to the same email address. Users must select the link and enter the code each time they access the shared files.
- Users should save or bookmark the link, as they will use it each time they want to access the folder/file(s).
- If you allow editing of the files this will be done using the Office for the web applications.
We will continue to share information in the coming weeks to help you be successful during migration. We will share more detailed instructions and information with individual groups before users move.