Ohio State Joins 21 Institutions at State Authorization Workshop

The Ohio State University’s state authorization team collaborated to bring Ohio institutions together for the annual State Authorization Network of Ohio (SAN-O) workshop on December 6, 2019.

The state authorization team worked with Franklin University, Sinclair Community College, the University of Cincinnati, Miami University and Xavier University to plan the event, which was held at Franklin University. Representatives from 21 institutions gathered to learn about new federal regulations and collaborate on state authorization compliance topics.

Workshop sessions included:

  • A presentation on Ohio Department of Higher Education program approval updates from Associate Vice Chancellor Dr. Stephanie McCann from the Ohio Department of Higher Education
  • An update from Cheryl Dowd, executive director of the national State Authorization Network, on new U.S. Department of Education state authorization regulations that take effect July 1, 2020
  • A discussion led by Russ Poulin, executive director of WCET, on new federal regulations impacting accreditation and distance education

SAN-O is a grassroots regional network that has been sharing information about state authorization regulations and best practices since 2012. The annual SAN-O workshop provides an opportunity for state authorization staff to share processes and ideas with colleagues and to make connections across the state for future collaboration.

For more information about SAN-O, contact Ohio State's state authorization team at ODEE-StateAuth@osu.edu.